Milan, Italy – September 2016

Ciao!

So my last destination of this year was Italy and I had the oppurtunity to visit three places – Milan, Lake Como and Venice.

These will be split into three blog posts, so watch out for those!

Before I begin to convey my experiences of Milan, I’d just like to mention that our return flight to Milan Bergamo airport only cost us around… wait for it … £40!! So of course, I couldn’t let that mind-blowing deal pass and booked it as quickly as I could.

It’s amazing how you can travel to another country cheaper than perhaps travelling to the otherside of your home country! Crazy.

Anyway, during our Italy trip, we stayed in an apartment in Milan in an area called Sesto Marelli which was around 10-15 minutes away from Duomo and around 20-30 minutes away from Centrale (the main train station).

The apartment we stayed in had all the amenities you could need – from free bottles of water and a carton of milk to air conditioning. I highly recommend this apartment as it’s a few steps away from the metro, plus it’s a gated residence therefore a safer environment.

The best way to get around the city is to buy a 24-hour urban ticket, which you can use on the metro, trams and buses for only €4.50. A pretty damn good deal! But make sure to buy another ticket once it has expired.

So onto the actual city…

We spent most of our time in Duomo, home of the beautiful Milan Cathedral. Incredible buildings and architecture which ever way you look.

If you’re a certified shopaholic, you will certainly be on cloud nine. Strolling along the streets which radiate from Piazza del Duomo, you will recognise high-end shops such as Gucci, Prada, Max Mara, Zara etc. For students like my friend and I, we mostly just enjoyed the pleasure of window shopping and seeing the latest trends in fashion.

At lunchtime, we were on the hunt for some Italian cuisine… particularly, some authentic Italian pizzas. As we walked along the Duomo, we spotted a restaurant opposite McDonalds with a big sign saying: “Ristorante Pizzeria“. Perfect! we thought.

img_0090

Here is a picture of our €8-13 pizzas. It was delicious though it may not seem it, so take your time to imagine just how tasty these were. In the places we visited, most of the prices in the restaurants were along the €8-20 range, so it’s worth keeping that in mind. Also there is often a “coperto” or a “cover charge” of mostly €2 which they add on top of your meal.

For the rest of the evening, we met up with a friend of my brother’s (who was also in Milan at the time we went) and we simply walked around the city by foot.

img_0120

Here we are, dancing and fooling around. We became very exhausted at the end of what was an extremely long day of travelling and exploring. Nonetheless, it was still a good start to our holiday.

Milan is a beautiful city… But I always like to be honest when I write these travel posts. There is not a whole lot to do especially if you’re on a budget, since shopping is one of the main activities in Milan. However, it’s still a destination ticked off my bucketlist. The Cathedral alone will leave you speechless.

Also, we did not do enough research to see which places to visit  as we didn’t have a lot of time to spend in Milan. So if you’re purely visiting Milan alone, I would suggest doing some research to make your stay worthwhile.

That is all for now! If you would like to see a preview of some of the pictures I have taken throughout my trip, head over to my Instagram – @reaaa.p

See you next week for a post on Lake Como where I have a lot more pictures to share!

Love,

RP x

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment